1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Types of Toothed Whales

Learn About the Odontocete Species


There are currently 86 recognized species of whales, dolphins and porpoises. Of these, 72 are Odontocetes, or toothed whales. Toothed whales often gather in large groups, called pods, and sometimes these groups are made up of related individuals. Below you can learn about some of the toothed whale species. For a lengthier list that includes baleen whales, click here.

Sperm Whale

Sperm whales (Physeter macrocephalus) are the largest toothed whale species. Males are much larger than females, and may grow to about 60 feet in length, while females grow to about 36 feet. Sperm whales have large, square heads and 20-26 conical teeth on each side of its lower jaw. These whales were made famous by Herman Melville's book Moby Dick.

Risso's Dolphin

Risso's dolphins are a medium-sized toothed whale that have stout bodies and a tall, falcate dorsal fin. The skin of these dolphins lighten as they age. Young Risso's dolphins are black, dark gray or brown while older Risso's may be light gray to white.

Pygmy Sperm Whale

Pygmy Sperm Whale / NOAA
The pygmy sperm whale (Kogia breviceps) is fairly small - adults can grow up to about 10 feet in length and 900 pounds in weight. Like their larger namesake, they are stocky with a squarish head.

Orca (Killer Whale)

Orcas, or killer whales (Orcinus orca) may also be known as "Shamu" due to their popularity as an attraction at marine parks like SeaWorld. Despite their name, there has never been a report of a killer whale attacking a human in the wild. Killer whales can grow up to 32 feet (males) or 27 feet (females), and weigh up to 11 tons. They have tall dorsal fins - the male's dorsal fin can grow as tall as 6 feet tall. These whales are easily identified by their striking black-and-white coloration.

Short-Finned Pilot Whale

Short-finned Pilot Whale Image
Courtesy ahisgett, Flickr
Short-finned pilot whales are found in deep, tropical and subtropical waters around the world. They have dark skin, rounded heads and large dorsal fins. Pilot whales tend to gather in large pods, and may mass strand.

Long-Finned Pilot Whale

Long-finned Pilot Whale / Jennifer Kennedy, Blue Ocean Society for Marine Conservation
© Blue Ocean Society for Marine Conservation
Long-finned pilot whales are found in the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian Oceans, plus the Mediterranean and Black Seas. They are found primarily in deep, offshore temperate waters. Like the short-finned pilot whale, they have rounded heads and dark skin.

Bottlenose Dolphin

Bottlenose dolphins (Tursiops truncatus) are one of the most well-known cetacean species. These dolphins can grow to 12 feet in length and 1,400 pounds in weight. They have a gray back and lighter underside.

Beluga Whale

Beluga Whale / NOAA
Beluga whales (Delphinapterus leucas) are white whales that can grow to 13-16 feet in length and up to 3,500 pounds in weight. Their whistles, chirps, clicks and squeaks could be heard by sailors through boat hulls and on the water, causing them to nickname these whales "sea canaries."

Atlantic White-Sided Dolphin

Atlantic White-sided Dolphin (Lagenorhynchus acutus)
© Blue Ocean Society
Atlantic white-sided dolphins (Lagenorhynchus acutus) are strikingly-colored dolphins that live in temperate waters of the North Atlantic Ocean. They can grow to 9 feet in length and 500 pounds in weight.

Long-Beaked Common Dolphin

Long-beaked common dolphins (Delphinus capensis) are one of two species of common dolphin (the other is the short-beaked common dolphin). Long-beaked common dolphins grow to about 8.5 feet in length and 500 pounds in weight. They may be found in large groups.
  1. About.com
  2. Education
  3. Marine Life
  4. Cetaceans
  5. Types of Toothed Whales

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.