1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.



different directions 2 dolphins swimming
Kerstin Meyer/Moment Open/Getty Images

Delphinidae is the family of animals commonly known as the dolphins. The animals in the delphinidae are among the most recognizable species of marine life, and includes species such as the bottlenose dolphin and (perhaps surprisingly) the killer whale (orca). Cetaceans in the Family Delphinidae are Odontocetes, or toothed whales. There are 36 species in this family.

The Delphinidae are generally fast, streamlined animals, and have cone-shaped teeth, an important characteristic that distinguishes them from porpoises. According to the Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals, the Delphindae can range in size from about 5 feet (e.g., the spinner dolphin) to about 30 feet in length (the killer whale, or orca).

Delphinids have a wide range of habitat, from coastal to pelagic areas. The Family Delphinidae includes these species: the bottlenose dolphin, the killer whale (orca), the Atlantic white-sided dolphin, Pacific white-sided dolphin, spinner dolphin, common dolphin, and pilot whales.

  1. About.com
  2. Education
  3. Marine Life
  4. Marine Life 101
  5. Glossary - Marine Life and Marine Biology Terms
  6. Delphinidae - What Is Delphinidae

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.